Skip to main content

Background

Objectives

It is an established practice in Hong Kong to conduct a population census every ten years and a population by-census in the middle of the intercensal period. The next population census will be conducted in 2021. The aim is to obtain up-to-date benchmark information on the demographic and socio-economic characteristics of the population as well as its detailed geographical distribution. The information is useful for the planning of social services and facilities both at the territory-wide level and in your community.

Survey Design

About nine-tenths of the households will be subject to simple enumeration to provide basic demographic information of their household members, while the remaining one-tenth of the households will be subject to more detailed enquiry on a broad range of demographic and socio-economic characteristics of their household members.

Simple enumeration covers only some basic questions. On the other hand, more detailed enquiry includes not only those questions covered in the simple enumeration, but also additional ones related to the socio-economic characteristics of the population and the characteristics of households and quarters. Taking together the common information collected in both the simple enumeration and more detailed enquiry will give the complete enumeration results on the basic characteristics of the population. It will also form the basis for estimation of the detailed socio-economic characteristics collected through the more detailed enquiry.

Timing

The 2021 Population Census will be conducted from 23 June to 4 August 2021.

Data Collection Method

The 2021 Population Census adopt a multi-modal data collection approach which will be conducted in two phases.

First phase: starting on 23 June
All households will receive a Population Census notification letter before end June 2021. You may provide data through the following means:

  1. Complete online questionnaire
  2. Conduct telephone interview (census hotline at 18 2021)
  3. Mail back completed questionnaire (applicable to households receiving paper questionnaire)

Second phase: starting on 18 July

If we do not receive your completed questionnaire, our census officers will visit your household to assist you in providing the required information. Our census officers will carry a Census Officer Certificate of Identity for your checking. To reduce face-to-face contact and maintain social distance, you are cordially invited to provide the required information by online or paper questionnaire or via telephone means.

Population Coverage

The 2021 Population Census will cover all persons within the definition of the Hong Kong Resident Population under the “resident population” approach.

The “resident population” approach has been adopted to compile the population estimates of Hong Kong since August 2000, so as to take account of the changing residency and mobility patterns of the Hong Kong population.

History

Since 1961, a population census has been conducted in Hong Kong every ten years and a by-census in the middle of the intercensal period.

Population censuses were conducted in 1961, 1971, 1981, 1991, 2001 and 2011 while population by-censuses in 1966, 1976, 1986, 1996, 2006 and 2016.

If you would like to have more information about the past population censuses / by-censuses, please visit the following websites:

跳至主要內容

背景

目的

根據慣例,香港每十年進行一次人口普查;而在兩次人口普查中間,則進行一次中期人口統計。下次人口普查將於2021年進行,旨在搜集本港人口的社會及經濟特徵,以及詳細地區分布的最新基準資料。這些資料有助規劃全港以及你所居住的社區的社會服務和設施。

統計調查設計

全港約九成住戶會接受簡單的點算,只須提供住戶成員的基本人口特徵資料(例如出生年份和月份、性別等);其餘約一成住戶將會接受詳細的訪問,提供住戶成員多方面的人口及社會經濟特徵的資料。

簡單點算只涵蓋一些基本問題。詳細訪問除了簡單點算的問題外,亦包括有關人口的社會經濟特徵資料以及住戶和屋宇單位特徵資料的詳細問題。結合簡單點算及詳細訪問收集所得的共通資料,可得出人口基本特徵資料的全面點算結果,亦會用作估算詳細訪問搜集所得的社會經濟特徵詳細資料的基礎。

時間

2021年人口普查將於2021年6月23日至8月4日期間進行。

數據搜集方法

2021年人口普查將採用多模式的數據搜集方法,並分為兩個階段進行。

首階段:由6月23日起

全港住戶將於2021年6月底前收到人口普查通知信,你可以選擇用以下方法提供資料:

  1. 填交網上問卷
  2. 進行電話訪問(普查熱線18 2021)
  3. 寄回已填妥的問卷(收到紙本問卷的住戶適用)

次階段:由7月18日起

如未收回你們的問卷,我們的統計員會到訪協助你提供所需的資料。統計員會帶備統計員身份證明書,以供查閱。為減少面對面接觸及保持社交距離,我們誠邀你使用網上問卷、紙本問卷或電話訪問提供資料。

人口範圍

2021年人口普查將以「居住人口」方法,涵蓋所有符合居港人口定義的人士。

自2000年8月起,「居住人口」方法已用作編製香港人口估計的統計數字,以反映香港人口在居住和流動模式的轉變。

歷史

自1961年起,香港每十年進行一次人口普查,並在兩次人口普查之間進行一次中期人口統計。

本港曾在1961年、1971年、1981年、1991年、2001年及2011年進行人口普查,並在1966年、1976年、1986年、1996年、2006年及2016年進行中期人口統計。

若需要獲取更多有關過往人口普查及中期人口統計的資料,可瀏覽下列相關網站: